Blue Plate Café

I write mysteries with intent to keep the readers curious and entertained. This series, The Blue Plate Café is no exception.

Throw into the mix the following: Twins, an inheritance, a café, a bed & breakfast, interesting characters, and of course, murders— and we’ve got a series that’s likely to keep you guessing ’til the end, I hope!

Please, read a book or four and meet my colorful characters.


Murder at the Blue Plate CaféMURDER AT THE BLUE PLATE CAFÉ

(#1 in the series)

When twin sisters Kate and Donna inherit their grandmother’s restaurant, the Blue Plate Café in Wheeler, Texas, there’s immediate conflict. Donna wants to sell and use her money to establish a B & B; Kate wants to keep the café.

Thirty-two-year-old Kate leaves a Dallas career as a paralegal and a married lover to move back to Wheeler and run the café, while Donna plans her B & B and complicates her life by having an affair with her sole investor. Kate soon learns that Wheeler is not the idyllic small town she thought it was fourteen years ago.

E-book: Amazon | Goodreads
Paperback: Amazon


Murder at the Tremont HouseMURDER AT THE TREMONT HOUSE

(#2 in the series)

When free-lance journalist Sara Jo Cavanaugh comes to Wheeler to do an in-depth study of Kate’s town for a feature on small-town America, Kate senses she will be trouble. Sara Jo stays at her sister Donna’s B & B, the Tremont House, and unwittingly drives a further wedge into Donna’s marriage to Wheeler’s mayor Tom Bryson.

And soon she’s spending way too much time interviewing high school students, one young athlete in particular.

E-book: Amazon | Goodreads
Paperback: Amazon



(#3 in the series)

Arson, a bad beating, and a recluse who claims someone is trying to kill her all collide in this third Blue Plate Café Mystery with Kate Chambers. Torn between trying to save David Clinkscales, her old boss and new lover, and curiosity about Edith Aldridge’s story of an attempt on her life, Kate has to remind herself she has a café to run. She nurses a morose David, whose spirit has been hurt as badly as his body, and tries to placate Mrs. Aldridge, who was once accused of murdering her husband but acquitted.

One by one, Mrs. Aldridge’s stepchildren enter the picture. Is it coincidence that David is Edith Aldridge’s lawyer? Or that she seems to rely heavily on the private investigator David hires? First the peacocks die…and then the people. Everyone is in danger, and no one knows who to suspect.

The entire Chapter 1 (.docx) is available for your viewing enjoyment!

E-book: Amazon | Goodreads
Paperback: Amazon

Murder at the Bus DepotMURDER AT THE BUS DEPOT

(#4 in the series)

Released on April 6, 2018.

Kate Chamber’s trouble antenna go up when Dallas developer Silas Fletcher decides to help “grow” Wheeler. She and her brother-in-law Mayor Tom Bryson, have less spectacular and drastic ideas for revitalizing the town. When Old Man Jackson dies in an automobile accident, the specter of the past comes back to haunt the town. Thirty years ago, Jackson’s daughter, Sallie, was murdered at the bus depot. The murder is still unsolved.

Will this ages-old murder ever get solved? Read to find out!

Click here to see the book’s own page that includes a detailed description and a free excerpt of the whole Chapter 1!

E-book: Amazon | Goodreads
Paperback: Amazon