Kelly O’Connell

Judy Alter - Kelly O'Connell MysteriesMy Kelly O’Connell Mysteries centers around, of course, its namesake— Kelly O’Connell. She is the sole owner of O’Connell and Spencer Realty, a real estate firm that specializes in renovating the Craftsman houses as well as other vintage structures in historic Fairmount neighborhood in Fort Worth, Texas.

Not only is she a busy businesswoman, she is also a mother with a tendency of being a busybody-around-town. Officer Mike Shandy thinks she’s got the knack for trouble while she maintains that she’s just looking out for her beloved neighborhood!

Won’t you give Skeleton in a Dead Space, the first in the series, a try and see if you like it?

SKELETON IN A DEAD SPACESkeleton in a Dead Space

(#1 in the series)

Kelly O’Connell never thought real estate was a dangerous profession until she stumbled over a skeleton in a dead space in an early-twentieth-century Craftsman house she was transforming into a coveted modern home in an older urban neighborhood in Fort Worth, Texas.

Buy this book (e-book) at:

NO NEIGHBORHOOD FOR OLD WOMENNo Neighborhood for Old Women

(#2 in the series)

Claire Guthrie shoots and wounds her husband the same night that Florence Dodson, Kelly O’Connell’s former neighbor, supposedly falls down her back steps, hits her head, and dies, Kelly knows it’s murder, but she has a hard time convincing Mike Shandy. She also has a hard time explaining why she gave Claire refuge in her guest apartment. Mike is adamant that she stay out of police matters. But then, with another murder, it’s clear someone is targeting elderly women in Fairmount, and panic invades the neighborhood.

Buy this book (e-book) at:

TROUBLE IN A BIG BOXTrouble in a Big Box

(#3 in the series)

Kelly O’Connell has her hands full: her husband Mike Shandy is badly injured in an automobile accident that kills a young girl, developer Tom Lattimore wants to build a big-box grocery store called Wild Things in Kelly’s beloved Fairmount neighborhood, and someone is stalking Kelly.

Buy this book (e-book) at:


(#4 in the series)

Kelly O’Connell’s husband, Mike Shandy, insists she has a talent for trouble, but how can she sit idly by while her world is shattering. Daughter Maggie is hiding a runaway classmate; protégé Joe Mendez seems to be hanging out again with his former gang friends and ignoring his lovely wife Theresa; drug dealers have moved into her beloved Fairmount neighborhood. And amidst all this, reclusive former diva Lorna McDavid expects Kelly to do her grocery shopping.

Buy this book (e-book) at:

DECEPTION IN STRANGE PLACESDeception in Strange Places

(#5 in the series)

A woman desperately seeking her biological mother, a televangelist determined to thwart that search, a hired hit man, and in the midst of it all, a reclusive diva. Kelly has gotten herself involved in a dangerous emotional tangle this time, and Mike doesn’t tell her to back off, even when events take them from Fort Worth to San Antonio.

Buy this book (e-book) at:

DESPERATE FOR DEATHDesperate for Death

(#6 in the series)

Just when Kelly’s life has calmed, she faces yet another of life’s puzzles. Except the pieces in this one don’t fit. First the apartment behind her house is torched, then a string of bizarre “accidents” occur to set her off-balance. Who is stalking her? Where does the disappearance of a young girl and her disreputable boyfriend fit in? And why are two men using the same name? Is the surprise inheritance another part of the puzzle? At a time when she is most vulnerable, Kelly can’t make the pieces fit, but she knows she must protect her daughters. Before Kelly can get the whole picture, she helps the family of a hostage, rescues a kidnap victim and attends a wild and wonderful wedding. See the entire Chapter 1 !

Buy this book (e-book) at:
Amazon eBook

THE COLOR OF FEARThe Color of Fear

(#7 in the series)

The Color of Fear marks Judy Alter’s return to mystery fiction and the Kelly O’Connell series after an absence of more than a year. This time, the indomitable Keisha narrates the short tale wherein Kelly and her family live under the threat of infant Gracie’s kidnapping. The story serves as a reprise of many of the previous novels in the series, as Keisha, in her search for the kidnapper, recalls Kelly’s earlier adventures.

Keisha remains outspoken and independent as she balances her need to protect Kelly and her family with her love for new husband, José Thornberry. Some but not all of Kelly’s friends and foes from previous stories appear here, along with such new characters as Clyde, the guard dog, and Cowboy, the homeless guy with a soft heart.

An excerpt from this novella is available: Excerpt

“The hardest challenge any author faces is “hooking” his/her reader. Judy Alter does this splendidly, bringing back the character of Keisha, Kelly O’Connell’s office manager, and presenting the story that follows in her voice. Keisha’s far from a detached observer/participant, her engagement in the action grabs you from the start, and seeing things from her perspective breathes new life into the on-going saga of Kelly and her family”

Anonymous reader

Buy this book (e-book) at:

Amazon (Kindle)
Barnes & Noble (Nook)

 Buy this book (paperback) at: